So I have a blog now…

So I’ve given into peer pressure and started a blog.  I’ll be honest.  I personally find the idea of blogging about my life to be a little bit self indulgent and narcissistic.  Do people really care what I have to say?  I find myself, however, frequenting friends blogs eagerly awaiting their updates.  I get irritated when my dear friend, Jon Erik, goes for a week without publishing a new poem (take the hint JE).  I’m always checking my sister in law’s blog to get updates about my nephews and the new shenanigans in which they’ve found themselves.  My friend Lindsey is a master pastry chef in the making and her blog always inspires me to put on my apron and get dirty in the kitchen.  My conclusion for why I’m so apprehensive about blogging is that I don’t think what I have to say matters enough to put it online.

I’ve decided to start this blog as a form of transparency in which I take a risk and post my writing.  I made the discovery several years back that I avoid publicly participating in activities unless I consider myself to be skilled at whatever it is.  (Hence the reason why I usually avoid pickup basketball games).  This blog is my attempt to grow beyond this flaw and put myself out there despite what other people think.

So I have a blog now…

3 thoughts on “So I have a blog now…

  1. haha! Jeremy I love you dearly. This is awesome. Thank you for starting a blog like I asked 🙂 I love getting updated on your mind. And the first poem is fantastic!!! You’ve got an Anne Lamott way about your writing… which I know you’ll take as a huge compliment, but it’s true. I can’t wait for more talks over tea.

Leave a Reply

